Discussion Locked

Menu Bar in MS-Word 2000

0 helpful
13 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

Hi

The main menu bar in MS-Word has completeley disappered.All you see are the mimimize,maximize,close bottons when you access MS-Word.I have tried uninstalling and re-installing MS-Office but no success.It seems to be happening only in Word and not the other MS-Office applications.I need help urgently.

Thanks

13 replies

by syscokid

Check out:

support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q242368

It lists 6 possible causes. Try the registry fix first (if you are comfortable using regedit; if not, try it last):

For information about how to edit the registry, view the "Changing Keys and Values" Help topic in Registry Editor (Regedit.exe) or the "Add and Delete Information in the Registry" and "Edit Registry Data" Help topics in Regedt32.exe. Note that you should back up the registry before you edit it. If you are running Windows NT or Windows 2000, you should also update your Emergency Repair Disk (ERD).

NOTE : Renaming the Data key resets several options back to the default settings, including the Most Recently Used (MRU) file list on the File menu andmany settings you customize when you click Options on the Tools menu. Word rebuilds the Data key by using built-in default settings the next time you start Word.

To rename the Data key, follow these steps:
Quit all Windows applications.

Onthe Windows Start menu, click Run .

In the Open box, type regedit , and then click OK .

Locate the following key by double-clicking the appropriate folders:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\9.0\Word\Data
With the Data folderselected, click Rename on the Edit menu.

Type a new name for the Data folder (for example, type OldData ) and then press ENTER.

On the Registry menu, click Exit to close the Registry Editor and restart Word normally (without using the /a switch).

If Word starts correctly, you have resolved the problem. The problem is a damaged Data key. You may need to change a few settings to restore your favorite options.

Hope this helps!

by alpha-male

This usually happens when your normal.dot file has become corrupted. Rename it normal.old and see if that resolves the issue.

For other menu bars, you can right click where the menu bar is and choose customize to pick what you want to see (or go under the view menu to menus)...but the main toolbar should not be selectable/de-selectable.

If recreating normal.dot doesn't work, let me know and I'll try to help further.

by hjs

Try this. Hit alt+v,arrow down to toolbars and add all you want.

by dgabbard

Simply right click on a toolbar. Select customize. Select toolbar tab and click on reset.

by whatme?

It may have happened by clicking fullscreen in the view menu. If then, you lost your menu bar... right click on the very top bar and then click customize and turn on menu bar as well as standard and formatting.... or hit the escape key

This discussion is closed to new replies.