General discussion

Outlook 2000 w/ Attachments

By TomSal ·
Hi everyone. I'm a network and tech support guy, but I'm only a newbie to Outlook 2000. I had someone send me a program via a file attachment yesterday and this morning while checking my mail Outlook informs me that it has cut off access to it due to it being a potential security risk. (It's a .exe file and falls in the Level 1 list). I can't believe this crap, now a program is controling how I work? Gimme a break. So before I delete Outlook 2000 from my machine and purposefully buy an email client that MS does not make, I figured I'd ask you guys if there is away for me to get my attachments.

Thanks for your help in advance.

-Tom

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

11 total posts (Page 1 of 2)   01 | 02   Next
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by SyscoKid In reply to Outlook 2000 w/ Attachmen ...

Try going to Tools -> Options -> Security tab, click on Attachment Security, and set it to "None".

Collapse -

by TomSal In reply to Outlook 2000 w/ Attachmen ...

There is no such setting as "Attachment Security" under the Security tab.

Collapse -

by SyscoKid In reply to Outlook 2000 w/ Attachmen ...

This is not really an answer, just a comment, but once an awnser is rejected there is no longer an option to post a comment.

So anyway, I'm running Outlook 2000 in Corporate or Workgoup mode, and I sure as shootin' have an Attchment Security setting. Click on Help -> About... The second line, right under Microsoft Outlook 2000 tells you what mode you'r running. If yours doesn't say Corporate or Workgroup, then I guess the differnt modes have different settings. Sorry.

Collapse -

Poster rated this answer

Collapse -

by kpittman In reply to Outlook 2000 w/ Attachmen ...

You may have the secutity update installed for outlok. "The Outlook E-mail Security Update provides the following security measures: