Discussion Locked

Word 2000 on Nt4.0 Workstation

0 helpful
6 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

Print problem with pagination using auto page numbering Page X of Y. Was working fine for six months. All of a sudden about a month ago, every document I print from MS Word is printing Page 1 of 1, 2 of 2, 3 of 3 etc. instead of Page 1 of 3, 2 of 3, 3 of 3. This includes saved files that were originally printing correctly. This problem happens when using the printer icon or File-Print function on any printer. The page numbering appears correctly on the screen. I discovered a workaround today, using the printer icon from the Print Preview screen results in correct page numbering being printed. Please Help.

Thanks in Advanced.

6 replies

by dklippert

Known issue for a long time.
There are a few workarounds:
Turn of background printing,
Go to Print Preview a couple of times
Print the document in reverse order.
I haven't heard about it reacting to different printers in this way, but try the work arounds.
PS Do you have SR-1 installed?

by curacao_dejavu

Check the MS KB on this, there are to artickels referring to this.
I have included them in here.

Page X of Y Numbering Prints Incorrectly
If your "Page X of Y" numbering is printed as "Page 1 of 1," "Page 2 of 2," "Page 3 of 3," and so on, refer to the first two articles in the following list of known page-numbering and page-order print issues.
Known Issues
The following articles document known page-numbering print issues in Word 2000. If you find a match for your print issue, click the article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
Q234287 WD2000: NumPages Field Prints Incorrect Results
Q189175 WD2000: Incorrect SectionPages or NumPages Field When Printed.

both are fixed in the sp1 of office 2000.
regards,

Leopold

by curacao_dejavu

To temporarily work around this problem, do one of the following methods before you print your document:

NOTE : After you perform one of the workarounds, update the SectionPages or NumPages field before you print your document by doing one of the following:
Right-click the SectionPages or NumPages field that is not updating and click Update Field on the shortcut menu.

-or-

On the Tools menu, click Options . On the Print tab, click to select the Update fields check box and then click OK .
Method 1: Turn off Show/Hide
To turn off Show/Hide , do one of the following:
On the Standard toolbar, click Show/Hide . If the Standard toolbar is missing, point to Toolbars on the View menu and click to select Standard .

-or-

On the Tools menu, click Options . On the View tab, click to clear the All check box, and then click OK .
Method 2: Turn on Reverse Print Order
On the Tools menu, click Options . On the Print tab, click to select the Reverse print order checkbox, and then click OK .
Method 3: Turn off Background Printing
Turn off Background Printing and then update the field before you print your document. To do this, follow these steps:
On the Tools menu, click Options , and then click the Print tab.

Click to clear the Background Printing check box.

Click OK.

This discussion is closed to new replies.