BUG: Procedure Declaration Does Not Match Description of Event
SYMPTOMS
Implementing an interface for a class that has broken compatibility results in the following error during compile time:
Compile Error: Procedure declaration does not match description of event or procedure having the same name
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a bug in the Microsoft products listed at the beginning of this article. We are researching this bug and will post new information here in the Microsoft Knowledge Base as it becomes available.
MORE INFORMATION
Steps to Reproduce Behaviour
1.
Create a new ActiveX DLL project in Visual Basic, Project1.
2.
Select Add Project from the File menu and add a second ActiveX DLL project, Project2.
3.
Add the following code to Project2's default class (Class1):
Public Test As Long
4.
Select Make Project2.dll from the File menu to compile Project2.DLL.
5.
Select Project2 Properties from the Project menu, and choose the Component tab in the dialog box.
6.
In the Version Compatibility frame, select Binary Compatibility. The text field below the option should be pointing to the DLL that was just compiled (Project2.DLL).
7.
Modify the code in Class1 of Project2 to:
Public Test as Integer
8.
Press the F5 key to run the module. A dialog box should appear twice warning about breaking Binary Compatibility. Choose "Preserve Compatibility" each time.
9.
Another dialog will appear asking how to instantiate the DLL. Choose "Wait For Components To Be Created."
10.
Stop the DLL from running by pressing the "Stop" button on the Visual Basic design environment toolbar.
11.
Switch to Project1 DLL, select References from the Project menu and add a reference to Project 2.
12.
Add the following code to Project1's default class (Class1):
Implements Project2.Class1
13.
Under the object drop-down box (upper-left ComboBox in Class1's code window), select Class1. A "Get" property for Class1_Test should be inserted into the Class1 code window.
14.
Under the property drop-down box (upper-right ComboBox in Class1's code window), select "Test [PropertyLet] ." A "Let" property stub for Class1_Test should be inserted into the Class1 code window.
15.
Select Make Project1.dll from the File menu to attempt to compile Project1.DLL. Note that the above mentioned error appears.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/190079
Please post back if you have any more problems or questions.