General discussion

Access2000question

By honey ·
Hi everyone! I am fairly new at this so any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated. I actually have two questions. (1) I am trying to calculate one field by using another field in the same table. I have the expression builder and the expression I need to use, however the expression builder will not show any of tables, forms, reports, or queries, therefore it doesn't recognize my expression because it doesn't recognize my field that I manually inputted. Can anybody tell me how I can add my tables, etc. to the expression builder so I can create my expression? (2)I also would like to open only 2 of my forms only for viewing through the start-up switchboard for my shop employees to view, but not edit, can anybody tell me how to do this? Thanks a million.

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

1 total post (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by CptOmlly In reply to Access2000question

In response to your first question: It is generally considered bad design to store a calculated value in a your data tables (and its therefore rather difficult). Calculated values should be handled "on the fly" using queries, form controls, etc. For example, you want to find the circumference of a circle based on a "diameter" value in Table1. Your select query should have the following format "Circumference: [table1].[diameter]*3.14". This will give you a field in your query called Circumference and the value will be calculated when the query is run. Or if you prefer the SQL statement: SELECT Table1.name, [table1].[diameter]*3.14 AS Circumference
FROM Table1;

Here's a good reference website for further info: http://www.fontstuff.com/access/acctut02.htm