Discussion Locked

Anoying message on startup for profiles!

0 helpful
5 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.
If anyone could help with this one I would be eternally greatful. Now I seem to have a problem where on Windows 98 machines (NT4 Server) a message always pops up about not having logged on before and if they would like to retain the settings. This yes or no answer message seems to confuse and annoy the clients and they would prefer it not to occur. I assume this is due to the policies in place, but I have not be able to work out a way to stop the nagging message. Any suggestions will be welcome on this matter.

5 replies

by rawright

Check that the client has Client for Microsoft Networks selected as the Primary Network Logon in the Network applet in Control Panel. Also, in the Client for Microsoft Networks Properties, check the box, Log on to Windows NT Domain, and enter the name of the domain in the Windows NT Domain box. You might also want to select Logon and Restore Network Connections while you're in there.

If this has been going on a while, and users have made mistakes, the client password file may be corrupt, as well. If you delete *.pwl, the client machine will act like it's brand new, and the user will have to log on as a new user. This will create a new, clean password file on the machine.

The first time the client logs on, it should produce this same message, but after answering Yes, it should stop for future logons.

by spank

I agree with answer 1 except for the restore network connections. If you have changed a share or have a problem with a share, your machine will throw an error. I always leave "quick logon" checked so my machine doesn't try to access a shared directory until I try to open it.

This discussion is closed to new replies.