Question

Cisco 2811 telnet lockout after config change

By scampbell ·
I am pretty new to the Router world and am in the middle of "dialing" up some of my remote sites from partial T's to full T's. A consultant was sent to assist in the Cisco configuration and he ended up knowing only slightly more than I do, after my google searches of Cisco CLI. We did finally successfully get 1 site up and running. We used a telnet session to remotely change the config. I have posted the commands he used below.

The Question: after the [no shut] command, the router disconnected and would not let us telnet back in. The only way to get back in to save the config change was to dial in by modem. That worked fine. Is there a reason it locked us out and can I avoid that, so that I can finish the whole job by telnet? I don't have easy modem access into all of my remote site routers.

config t
interface Serial
bandwidth 1544
service-module t1 timeslots 1-24
no shut

Sorry for the novel, but this is a confusing scenario to me. Thanks for the help!

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

4 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

How were you

by NetMan1958 In reply to Cisco 2811 telnet lockout ...

able to telnet to it before you configured that WAN interface? Were you on the same LAN as the router and telnetting to the LAN ip?

Just the config snippet you posted shouldn't have affected telnet capability unless, you had a working config on that interface before and changed it. Can you ping the ip assigned to that interface?

Collapse -

Clarification

by scampbell In reply to How were you