Question

• Creator
    Topic

Computer Forensics 101

by thumper1 ·

As a Network administrator, I need some basic knowledge on this subject. I have some secretaries and a few Attorneys who treat their company owned computers as their personal amusement parks. I need to be able to find out where these people go and what they do on the Internet. What is the best way to educate myself?
    Thanks

All Answers

• Author
    Replies

Clarifications

by thumper1 ·

In reply to Computer Forensics 101

Clarifications

Open their Web Browsers History

by oh smeg ·

Generally works.

Though I’m not sure that is what you are asking here.

Col

I guess I should have………..

by thumper1 ·

In reply to Open their Web Browsers History

I guess I should have clarified this. The problem people, while quite a ways from being computer literate, are very careful to hide their tracks. They set their browsers to keep no history. They have been real good at deleting all content, including off line and cookies.
        We have a computer use policy that is being reviewed and re-written.
        I have been told that everything they do is stored in a file called index.dat. I am not sure if history information is stored anywhere else, I have downloaded a couple of programs to read this file, so far with mixed results. What I am asking is if there is anything else I could be doing to try to get a handle on what’s going on.
        Thanks

save yourself alot of trouble

by xnavydk ·

In reply to I guess I should have………..