General discussion

Dead IBM PC Server 704

By timothy.sharpe ·
I need to retrieve data from an IBM PC Server 704.

We have this old IBM PC Server 704. It belongs to a contract company doing work for us and I have been asked to help. It will not boot up, during the boot process the following messages appear.
- No SCSI Boot Devices Found.
- Please insert bootable media.

I am assuming that one of the drives has failed. I thought that I could install a copy of NT on some free space and get it back up so they could retrieve their data. I have never worked with IBM servers before, not sure how to boot so as to access the drive array and install OS. During boot I see "IBM ServeRAID ... 2.0.." and it says "CRTL + I to configure" which I do. From within the configuration I select "View Configuration" and It reports "no logical drives installed".

I assume that the first drive in the array failed and that that drive contained the OS and was set as the boot device. Any ideas as to how I can retrieve any data that may be on the other (3) drives. I'm not sure what RAID level it had; I do have some spare drives for it.

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

5 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by Joseph Moore In reply to Dead IBM PC Server 704

I work with IBM Netfinity and xSeries servers, and they really only like to be built using the IBM ServerRAID CD that comes with the server. You might need to get one to be able to configure a new logical disk.
Now, if the other disks were in a single array (like in a RAID5 config) then I don't think you would be able to retrieve data from them since their logical disk is gone (according to the "no logical drives installed" message). Losing the array configuration is the nightmare scenario.

Collapse -

by Joseph Moore In reply to