Discussion Locked

Delete old OS after W2K clean install?

0 helpful
3 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

I upgraded an old laptop to W2K Pro that was running Win98se, using the recommended "clean install" option. The user is now comfortable with W2K and has all data and apps ported to the new environment.

Now to recover disk space, how do I go backand remove the Win98 OS without losing any user data and apps? W2K knew the userID was already on the system and the person's data shows up in W2K. Doing a search for a file seems to show one copy but in two profiles. I need to get rid of Win98 but not the user data if possible. Otherwise I will back it up and start fresh from a formatted drive. Thanks!

3 replies

by highlander718

The user probably used to save files in a "MyDocuments" kind of folder, which you can have 2 copies of in different Windows profile folders.
Assuming that the user was using the exact same steps to save files, only one of the 2 folders (profiles) should have the up-to-date files, the other is just old stuff.
You should have 2 different Windows folders (one for Win98 and one for 2000). Make sure the user was saving in the 2000 profile, and than you can delete the 98 one. Applications should be fine as well as long as they are running fine currently and you don't have applications installed in the Win 98 folder (which would be very odd). Also you never know what users are saving or installing (if they have the rights) in a windows folder,so yes, the 100% sure thing would be to backup everything and do a really clean install.

This discussion is closed to new replies.