General discussion

• Creator
    Topic

Dell poweredge 2500 startup problem

by rboyer ·

I am not an IT professional but am trying to get a small private school set up with a network.
    I have a Dell poweredge 2500 which I set up with server 2003, 2 drives mirrored (operating system etc) and the rest striped.
    When I originally started working with the server it wouldn’t boot, I scraped the old thermal compound (it had been sitting for several years and was dry) and put new compound on before setting up server 2003, it worked great for awhile, but is once again not booting. It has the same problem it did. It starts the boot process and gets to the line and then everything locks up. Please give me some advice on what to try to get this up and running.
    Thanks,
    Bob

All Comments

• Author
    Replies

Reply To: Dell poweredge 2500 startup problem

by cmiller5400 ·

In reply to Dell poweredge 2500 startup problem

Have not delt will Dell servers before but make sure that all BIOS’s and firmwares are up to date. Can you get into the BIOS and monitor the system temps? This also could be a RAM failure. If the sytem has more that one stick in it, try taking out a stick at a time and see what happens. If the problem is solved when a stick is removed, it may be bad RAM or a bad slot on the MB. Good Luck!!

by pierrejamme ·

I purchased two of these when they came out for NetWare 5.1 install. It was quite sometime ago, so am not certain that it meets requirements for Windows 2003 you might check that out. Windows 2000 server or Netware 6.5 would be fine if BIOS and Firmware are current.I would agree with previous poster.
      You didn’t mention hard drive types are they SCSI on a Raid controller? Firmware and Drivers for that are critical also (Perc 2 is currently at version 2.80 for this server). You can find the latest BIOS (A07) and Drivers at:
      http://makeashorterlink.com/?J5012576D

Peter

by larryhyman ·