General discussion

Dual boot with Windows Vista + Windows Server 2003

By emanueol ·
Hi all,

My typical machine configuration is a dual boot using XP for playing games and Server 2003 for work (im a developer).

Till now, the install order of several Windows versions in multiboot cfg was/is install from oldest version first and going up installing the newest OS version. So, in my case, I install XP and then after I install Windows Server 2003.

Ok, since i didn't had/wanted to install Vista betas, Im now wondering how can i have a dual boot fresh install with Vista and Server 2003 ?
(for the moment this is the topic im sharing with you all, in July 2007 when the new server version will come out then it will be time to investigate again how and i possible to have multi boot install using Vista + Longhorn).

Cheers, and look forward to see you comments
Emanuel

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

11 total posts (Page 1 of 2)   01 | 02   Next
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

Install Server 2003 first

by jerickson In reply to Dual boot with Windows Vi ...

Vista uses a new boot loader, so install Windows Server 2003 first, then install Vista. You'll then get a boot menu that offers you Vista or "previous version", just like if you had dual boot XP and Vista. Simple as that.

Collapse -

Thanks m8

by emanueol In reply to Install Server 2003 first

Ok, thanks Jerickson

Collapse -

XEON

by Brooklyns Finest In reply to Thanks m8

Make sure the machine has a xeon processor. I would take it another step in having dual xeon processors for the new OS's next year. I believe exchange 07 needs xeon.

Collapse -

hmm.. xeon..

by emanueol In reply to XEON

Oops you caught me there with the XEON advice.. I wan't aware of that product line.

I always evolved, developed and played games with Pentium Processors. And I was thinking on upgrading to some Core 2 Duo next year.