Question

Exchange 2003 offline defrag procedure

By jm1964 ·
Good Morning,

I hope you all are well. I'd like to ask for some advice regarding an offline defrag of an exchange 2003 database using eseutil. It's my first time and I want to ensure I have the correct procedure.

Database size is ~80 GB and saved on the D drive of an exchange server. I plan on creating a defragged copy of the database on another networked server named 'utilities'. Once copied, I plan to delete the original priv1.edb and priv1.stm files and replace them with the smaller defragmented edb and stm files from the other server. Then rename.

Through my research on MS' support site, these are the steps I need to take.

1. Dismount mailbox store from the system manager

2. from the command line, run: >eseutil /d /p "d:\program files\exchsrvr\mddata\priv1.edb /t"\\utilities\utilities server\tempdfg.edb"

3. Once the defrag completes and the new database is created on the utilities server, delete original edb and stm files on exchange server and then add the new files and rename them to priv1.edb and priv1.stm

4. In the system manager, mount the mailbox store

Please let me know if this sounds correct.

Thanks

Jason

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

3 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

You're OK but you don't *need* to use /p

by neilb@uk In reply to Exchange 2003 offline def ...

I suppose that you are either suitably paranoid and want to do an integrity check on the compacted database or you aren't in a position to do a cold backup of your database files once the Exchange is shut down. You'll find it faster to just avoid disabling the instanting and let Eseutil replace the old database. It will be very slow with the temp db on another server, though, with or without /p!