Question

Exchange server 2000

By exs2 ·
Ok. I am a network administrator in a company. We are running a Windows server 2000 with Exchange server 2000. After 2 days of unplugging the network cable from the mail server we are having the current problem: we cannot recieve ANY emails at all.
Some clues to our current state are:
We can send emails through ethernet (lan) and outside LAN. Internet and LAN connection is working as intended.
We can send email to any registered account in our domain from an outter source. Hotmail yahoo etc etc.
We do not use any mail connections with our ISP whatsoever, an email is sent directly to our domain and gets delivered through our exchange server.
although in LAN the specified server looks fine, somebody out of the local domain cannot ping our server's static ip address.
Our ISP reports that the registered mail ip is correct.
When someone tries to send an email to us no error messages occur, the mail is sent.
The Exchange server properties and SMTP look just fine, and they are the ones we ve been successfully using the past 2 years nothing changed.
using the tools provided at mxtoolbox.com, entering my domain's address it returns my exchange mail server which is mail.convexdesign.gr preference=0 TTL=86400
When I try to run a diagnostic lookup (SMTP Diagnostics) it returns 2 kinds of errors:
1)A connection attempt failed because the connected party didnot properly respond after a period of time, or connected host has failed to respond.
2)A socket operation was attempted to an unreachable network.
any help would be greately appreciated.

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

9 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

re

by exs2 In reply to Exchange server 2000

a friend of mine asked me to check our gateway (router). What does it have to do with my problem ? is it of any revelance?what should i check for ?!

Collapse -

Gateway

by bens In reply to re