General discussion

fresh Win2000 server with 160gig drives

By Borg7of9 ·
Hi

Dies anyone have a step by step procedure for installing Windows 2000 server, with 160 gig drives or higher? Its my first time installing with large drives. I have Win2000 server ( w SP4 )

I am installing on a new asus P4V8x-X with 2 x 160 gig maxtor drives.

On first attempt, it only showed me one drive, and only offered me to format in NTFS.

So I then used fdisk, deleted partitions, re-partitioned, and then started the install over again. This time it sees both drives, but will only allow me to format in Fat32. ( I know I can change this later )

However, I am interested in the best method of doing a fresh install.

Thanks

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

4 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by CG IT In reply to fresh Win2000 server with ...

used to be 137 GB limit with W2K. Using 48 bit logical block addresses lets W2K go over that limit. Somewhere there was a hotfix for it. here's an article on large drives over 137 GB that perform slowly which gets into the hotfix/SP that resolves that issue and the registry key mod that turns on 48 bit LBA .
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;314695

Collapse -

by Borg7of9 In reply to fresh Win2000 server with ...

Yes I read that article, however, I was also told that with new motherboards, and win2000 SP4, this is not needed, so somewhat confusing

Collapse -

by UncleRob In reply to fresh Win2000 server with ...