Question

Help locating Port 4567 and closing it?

By Shergill ·
I would appreciate any help, but please in simple, idiot language. I'm very new at this.

I use Windows XP Media Edition, Version 2002, SP3, Norton 360, Version 3.5.2.11.

Since September 10th, I've been getting a pop up box, warning me about a malicious virus, I can see a scan running in the back, but when I run a comprehensive scan, nothing shows up.

Virus scans from Symantec, Microsoft Malicious Software Removal Tool, ShieldsUp common probes scan all show up clean. These scans were run before and after the last pop, with the same result.

The symantec security scan shows vulnerability to Trojan Horse as Port 4567 is open. Norton has been no help, as the people I've spoken to do not know how? and keep wanting to put me thru. to the Anti-Virus dept., which I refuse as there is no Virus. Since I switched to the upgraded version, I've been hit twice, two weeks apart, all the time got no alert from Norton, until all **** broke loose. I can't see how, as I'm very careful, use their identity safe log in, use the same media sites etc., hardly surf the net, no downloads, IM, attachments etc.

I had no problems for a year with Norton 360,
assuming an older version for a whole year, but these past few months have been a nightmare.

Although my subscription with Norton does not end until April 2010, I need peace of mind and would be deeply indebted, if someone could recommend a good AV software, one that offers 24/7 support.

I did take the precaution of disconnecting client and file sharing for MSFT Ntwks.

Thank you so much. I've learned a lot just reading the blogs although most of it has made very little sense to me. :)

ashergill

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

9 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

Are you sure that there are no infections

by OH Smeg In reply to Help locating Port 4567 a ...