General discussion

How do you import .sql file into MS SQL 2000 Server?

By mdowner ·
I was working originally with what turned out to be a very unreliable offshore IT firm in India. I had to finally severe our working relationship
with them. They were about 70% complete even though they demanded 100% payment upfront.

My problem is they sent me all the site files and a database .sql file. I am in no way a DBA, my background is systems engineer. I have a local installation of SQL Server 2000 along with the Web host SQL 2000 Server. I am clueless how to get the data base (the .sql file)
into the MS SQL 2000 Server.

Sorry if I seem out of it, I am home with a
severe cold/flu.

Thanks in advance for you input/advice,
matt

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

12 total posts (Page 1 of 2)   01 | 02   Next
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

Pucker up, this could hurt.

by Tony Hopkinson In reply to How do you import .sql fi ...

.sql is the default extension for a script.
In 2000 you would probably run Query Analyser. Open the .sql file and execute it (Click the green arrow)

Now whether this script will run is another question, if it does, what it does is a book of questions. Which bits of it mean what in terms of whatever spec you gave them, a twenty-six gold leaf bound collectors edition volume set.

Normally you would gave expected a backup of the database (.bak file by default). If all you've got is a script, it's either proven and will just go or you've got an unproven work in progress.

Employing them in the first place sounds like a mistake, severing the relationship in this apparent state definitely was.

Even if it works, you are in real difficulty without full documentation of what they've done up to press and how they were going to do the rest of it.