Question

Locked

How to display a VPN logon screen without showing last user name

By micromd ·
I would appreciate it very much if someone could help me to create a VPN logon screen in Windows XP or Vista without showing last user name on the screen when one double clicks the VPN connection icon.

I know Windows XP/Vista has the Interactive Logon policy : Do not display last user name. This policy does not work with VPN logon screen

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

2 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

Have a read

by Jacky Howe In reply to How to display a VPN logo ...

In Vista

Start Control Panel, Network and Sharing Center, Set up a connection or network.
Connect to a workplace, select Use my Internet connection (VPN)

Type in Internet address:

Destination name:

Optional: Tick Allow other people to use this connection.

Tick Don't connect now;

click next

Leave the other fields blank.

Type in Domain

click Create

Create a shortcut to it.

Logging in as another user has no shortcut on the Desktop.

Logging back on as the creator and running the shortcut I found the Logon and Password fields empty.

XP VPN Connection
Start Control Panel, Network Connections, under network Tasks, Create a new connection.
The Wizard will start and select Next.
select Connect to the network at my workplace and select Next.
select Virtual Private Network connection and select Next.
Type in a Connection Name and select Next.
Type in the Host name or IP Address and select Next.


Test your connection but DO NOT tick Save this username and password.

Unfortunately a shortcut will be created in All Users Desktop. Copy the shortcut to a staging location and delete the original from All Users Desktop.

Xp seems to pick up on the user that is logged on at the time of creation. But logging off and logging on as another user and running the shortcut came up empty. Username and password were required.

I saved the Username and Password, Me only in the second account on XP. I then unticked Save this username and password and it retained the Username.

I then re-ticked Save this username and password after blanking the fields and clicked on connect. Of course it wasn't going to connect so I hit Cancel.

Ran the shortcut again and no Username.

So the moral of the story is DO NOT tick Save this username and password.


These tests were performed in a workgroup environment. Vista Business Edition and XP Pro were used to test with.

Back to Windows Forum
2 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  

Related Discussions

Related Forums