General discussion

IBM Netfinity 5000 Server

By mmdorsey ·
Hello, My name is Mike Dorsey, I'm a student working an externship with a company that would like to bring up a spare server (Netfinity 5000) and have it ready in case of failure of one on the online servers. I have virtually no experiance with Netfinity Servers. What I would like to do is set it up from scratch. I would he loading windows 2000 server as the operating system. I would also be setting up RAID to support it. Would I need to set up the BIOS a particular way to make it work? and if so where would I get this information?

I do realize the information provided is not very specific, and that's because I running in the blind. I'm just wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction to get the information I would need to bring this server up. BIOS info, SCSI Info....?

Thank You, Mike Dorsey

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

6 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

IBM Technical Documentation

by BFilmFan In reply to IBM Netfinity 5000 Server

I would recommend that you pull the technical documentation for that server from IBM's website and then develop your plan.

Depending on what OS you are using for the online servers, your plans might vary a great deal.

Collapse -

IBM Netfinity 5000

by palmerwill In reply to IBM Netfinity 5000 Server

Did you have any luck finding the technical documentation? I am an a similar position to yourself, with little/no knowledge of building such a server I have been asked to do so and am struggling. I will also be using Windows 2000 (adv. server), and am intending on using RAID 5 if it is available.

Collapse -

DUDE!

by winkyx In reply to IBM Netfinity 5000 Server