Question

If you are an experienced tech guy and have 100,000.00 dollars with you, what would you do?

By thisisahmed ·
Dear Tech Community,

I will be landing soon in Canada as an immigrant and will be taking around 100,000.00 Canadian dollars with me (My whole life's savings).

I have 18 years of experience in providing advanced level tech support, mostly Windows environment (Can also work on Unix/Linux a bit). Have also worked in Dell USA for 5 years in their Enterprise Expert Center (4 years ago, then returned back to my home country)

Now looking at the job market in Canada, it seems nearly impossible to get a good job there, so I am thinking about starting my own business as "Freelance IT Consultant" but this profession don't need that much investment.

So what to do with my money, just put it in a saving account or buy mutual funds?

Do you guys have any other ideas where I can utilize both my money and knowledge/experience to start a different kind of business and make my life easier/better?

Edit: Here is the link to my resume: http://muhammadahmed.com/resume

Thanks in advance!

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

17 total posts (Page 1 of 2)   01 | 02   Next
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

What I'd do

by NexS In reply to If you are an experienced ...

Is not be an experienced tech guy anymore.
I'd pursue my music career!

Collapse -

WIth that much money, you could almost get a full tank of gas!

by Slayer_ In reply to If you are an experienced ...

But seriously, Where are you moving from? Canada cannot be thought of as one job market, each province (many are bigger than a good chunk of countries) has a very different job market.