General discussion

• Creator
    Topic

ISA SERVER 2000 (DOWNLOADING RESTRICT)

by haideraly ·

WELL I AM FACING BIG PROBLEM NOW A DAYS, I NEED HELP PLEASE, PLEASE HELP ME ONE OF MY SENIOR SOVLED MY PROBLEM .

” I AM A NETWORK CABLE OPERATOR, I HAVE INSTALL WINDOWS 2000 SERVER FOR OPERATING SERVER SYSTEM, I HAVE INSTAL ISASERVER2000 FOR INTERNET CONNECTION SHARING, I WANNA RESTRICT DOWNLOADING FROM MY CLIENT, FTP, EXE, MPG, VDO, AUDIO …

MAIN THING I WANT BLOCK ALL FTP FROM BROWSERS, I AM UNABLE TO DO ANYTHING, PLEASE HELP ME , AND TELL ME WHAT IS THE RIGHT WAY TO CREATE RULES AND POLICEIS, SOMETIME MY MSN AND YAHOO RESTRICT , RIGHT NOW I AM CREATING ONLY ONE RULE ALLOW ALL PROTOCOL, SERVER OPEN FOR EVERY ONE . EVERY ONE DOWNLOAD FTP SOFTWARES AND DOWNLOADING OPEN FOR EVERY ONE , PLEASE HELP ME , I ONLY RESTRICT DOWNLOADING, AND SET ONLY FOR SCHEDULE ..
    I HOPE ANYONE REPLY ME
    THANKS
    HAIDER !

All Comments

• Author
    Replies

Reply To: ISA SERVER 2000 (DOWNLOADING RESTRICT)

by cg it ·

In reply to ISA SERVER 2000 (DOWNLOADING RESTRICT)

ISA default install is to block all traffic so how’s it configured? Easiest way is to disable the FTP packet filter and install the firewall client program on all workstations. What kind of clients are you using? Secure NAT or Firewall Client?

by cg it ·

In reply to Reply To: ISA SERVER 2000 (DOWNLOADING RESTRICT)

ah forgot, where is ISA server positions in the network topology? If it the perimeter firewall on it’s own box? Are you running 2 NICs? ISA works best with 2 NICs.

by b_df ·

i think you must make packet filter and block ftp protocol

by cg it ·

there is a couple of different ways to block on ISA server. You can create a Site & Content rule with a destination set that redirects the client to another site. You can create a destination set that blocks a specific site such as Napster.