General discussion

ISA SERVER 2000 (DOWNLOADING RESTRICT)

By haideraly ·
WELL I AM FACING BIG PROBLEM NOW A DAYS, I NEED HELP PLEASE, PLEASE HELP ME ONE OF MY SENIOR SOVLED MY PROBLEM .

" I AM A NETWORK CABLE OPERATOR, I HAVE INSTALL WINDOWS 2000 SERVER FOR OPERATING SERVER SYSTEM, I HAVE INSTAL ISASERVER2000 FOR INTERNET CONNECTION SHARING, I WANNA RESTRICT DOWNLOADING FROM MY CLIENT, FTP, EXE, MPG, VDO, AUDIO ...

MAIN THING I WANT BLOCK ALL FTP FROM BROWSERS, I AM UNABLE TO DO ANYTHING, PLEASE HELP ME , AND TELL ME WHAT IS THE RIGHT WAY TO CREATE RULES AND POLICEIS, SOMETIME MY MSN AND YAHOO RESTRICT , RIGHT NOW I AM CREATING ONLY ONE RULE ALLOW ALL PROTOCOL, SERVER OPEN FOR EVERY ONE . EVERY ONE DOWNLOAD FTP SOFTWARES AND DOWNLOADING OPEN FOR EVERY ONE , PLEASE HELP ME , I ONLY RESTRICT DOWNLOADING, AND SET ONLY FOR SCHEDULE ..
I HOPE ANYONE REPLY ME
THANKS
HAIDER !

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

13 total posts (Page 1 of 2)   01 | 02   Next
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by CG IT In reply to ISA SERVER 2000 (DOWNLOAD ...

ISA default install is to block all traffic so how's it configured? Easiest way is to disable the FTP packet filter and install the firewall client program on all workstations. What kind of clients are you using? Secure NAT or Firewall Client?

Collapse -

by CG IT In reply to

ah forgot, where is ISA server positions in the network topology? If it the perimeter firewall on it's own box? Are you running 2 NICs? ISA works best with 2 NICs.

Collapse -

by b_df In reply to ISA SERVER 2000 (DOWNLOAD ...

i think you must make packet filter and block ftp protocol

Collapse -

by CG IT In reply to ISA SERVER 2000 (DOWNLOAD ...

there is a couple of different ways to block on ISA server. You can create a Site & Content rule with a destination set that redirects the client to another site. You can create a destination set that blocks a specific site such as Napster.