General discussion

Linked tables on network in Access 2000

By swild ·
I'm a newbie in the world of VBA. I love working with it, but have run into a problem. I have a .mdb data file out on the network and a .mdb file (user interface with forms and report, linked to data file)on the client machine. The connection is extremely SLOW. I was wondering if anyone else has run into this and what I can do (with or without code) to pick up the performance.

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

12 total posts (Page 1 of 2)   01 | 02   Next
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by Bob Sellman In reply to Linked tables on network ...

I have many Access applications running over networks with front end (application) databases with tables linked to a back end "data" database.

Although you don't mention the speed of the network connection, running through a network will always be slower than if you had both databases on the workstation. Access transfers all data (for a data request) to the workstation, where the data is then selected and sorted, rather than the selection (SQL processes) being performed at the server and sent to the workstation.

You might try a few things, however, to help performance.

1. Review what columns are indexed and add indexes appropriate to the sorting and multi-table queries used for your reports. Indexes to help queries run faster can be a real help. Queries should be in your application database.

2. If you are doing any temporary processing into "report calculation" tables to prepare reports, locate those in your local application database, rather than your data database. This also will help reduce the need to compact the data database as frequently, although it will then be necessary to compact the application database periodically.