Question

Mail items disappear from Outlook 2007 deleted items box after 7 days

By jason_laporte ·
I am a system administrator. We are running Exchange 2003 server back end with Outlook 2007 on our desktops. I have a user who's deleted items are removed from her deleted items box of outlook after 7 days. I have turned off her autoarchieve feature. I've disabled permanent delete in Outlook. I've changed her deleted retention in Exchange to 365 days, but the items still are deleted after 7 days. I tried setting an autoarchieve to archieve the deleted items after 6 days but that didn't work either. I've rebuilt the .OST file from scratch. No other users are having this problem and I'm using the same retention policy for all. Any suggestions on where else the problem might be?

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

18 total posts (Page 1 of 2)   01 | 02   Next
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

Deleting emails

by ebouza In reply to Mail items disappear from ...

Have tried going to tools and options and going to the other tab then clicking advanced options and make sure the warn before deleting items box is selected. This should then warn the user before they actually get deleted.

Hope this helps, let me know.

Erick B

Collapse -

Deleting emails

by jason_laporte In reply to Deleting emails

I do have warn user before delete checked. I do not believe it is being deleted at the Outlook level. I believe it is being deleted at the Exchange level. I believe this because I am able to use the "recover peramenetly deleted mail" option.

Any other suggestions.

Jason

Collapse -

Re: Deleting Emails

by ebouza In reply to Deleting emails