General discussion

MS Windows 2003 domain (Win 9

By zekeHLM ·
I have some issues and some questions which i wondered if anyone out there could give me a clue.

First off, i'm new to the whole domain thing, obviously. It is a MS Windows 98/2000/XP domain. Everything setup simple. It works, but I have some minor issues that annoying me...

Question #1:
In the user profiles i have it so the home path is directed to U(user's folder). It works with the 2000 and XP machines but NOT with the 98. I haven't been able to find any great solutions to this, instead i set it up so the people that use 98 are just mapped to the user folder containing ALL users folders and they only have access to execute/read/write to their own folder (U:\folder\user's folder) but this isn't pretty. is there any correct way to do this?

Question #2:
The MS Win 98 computers don't like .vbs login scripts (under netlogon directory). What looks like a command prompt pops up but says nothing and a window saying something about running NT scripts comes up but no script runs. The batch files I create (.bat) work fine. Am i doing something wrong?

Question #3:
After logging off then logging back on Windows 98 I can't check my pop email accounts (mozilla mail) without restarting. It says it can't be reached. I can access websites though. Did i set up DNS wrong, maybe? I just went through the wizard with it.

Question 4:
I read about a DSClient for MS Windows 98 that would allow certain things to work, but I could only find it for the 2000 Server and not for 2003. Is there one?

Any comments or help would be appreciated.
Thanks

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

9 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by dmiddltn In reply to MS Windows 2003 domain (W ...

Q1: write a batch file that will map the drive.
NET USE U: \\server\users\%username%