General discussion

My Windows 2000 is messing up

By Rel Blackmane ·
I have recently installed Windows 2000 Professional on my home computer; Celeron 700 overclocked to ~800 MHz with 256 RAM.
I consistenly get the error whenever I restart of:
Explorer.exe - Application error
The instruction at "0x00408902" referenced memory at "0x00000000". The memory could not be "read".
I am an A+ certified tech at a small computer reseller in northwestern Ontario.
I've done an extensive search on the Web for answers.
Am I missing something or What? How do I fix?
Rel Blackmane

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

12 total posts (Page 1 of 2)   01 | 02   Next
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by Admin-Stuart In reply to My Windows 2000 is messin ...

This problem is documented as a problem of allotment of sufficient memory buffer, requires application of a service pack, and is on the MS knowledgebase at the following address (remove any spaces that appear in the URL):

http://support.microsoft.com/directory/article.asp?ID=KB;EN-US;Q262490

Good luck.

Collapse -

by Admin-Stuart In reply to My Windows 2000 is messin ...

P.S. The article states that it assumes you eventually can completely boot the OS after numerous tries, so that the service pack can be applied. Hope so.

Collapse -

by Rel Blackmane In reply to My Windows 2000 is messin ...

Poster rated this answer

Collapse -

by BuffaloDan In reply to My Windows 2000 is messin ...

I would also recommend actually clocking the CPU at it's rated speed, sure you "SHOULD" be able to overclock it, but not all chips are equal, there are very minor discrepancies between all semiconductors, even among the same batch!

Also, and thisis the Biggie....

Not all MotherBoards/chipsets will manage clock speeds identically.

I would eliminate this one possibility first, as it is very easy to eliminate.

Alos, Not all Ram Sticks are created equally either.