Discussion Locked

Other Users Can't Open Outlook Forms

0 helpful
6 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.
Some of my users can open the forms I have created without a problem & others are getting a message that the form cannot be displayed. The problems started after I added an ActiveX control to my Toolbox. It seems to be somehow related to the Outlook.box file b/c when I rename it they can access the form, but then later will have problems again. Help!

6 replies

by tke402

I would delete the frmcache.dat file. If that doesn't work I would deleted the cached versions of the forms which are found under C:\Documents and Settings\%username%\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\FORMS.

Also make sure there isn't a version of the form saved in the users personal forms library. (outlook lookes there before it look at the organizational library

by maxwell edison

If you are using Microsoft Outlook 2000 SR-1/SR-1a and you have Outlook 2000 configured in the Corporate/Workgroup (CW) mode, you can use the Clear Cache button to reset the Outlook forms cache. To verify the SR-1/SR-1a version of Outlook 2000 that you have installed and if it is configured in CW mode, click the Help menu, and then click About Microsoft Outlook .

If you do not have Outlook 2000 SR-1/SR-1a installed, you can obtain service releases and service packs from the following Microsoft Web site:
http://office.microsoft.com

For additional information about Outlook modes, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:

Q195479 OL2000: What Setup Option Should I Choose When I Install Outlook.

Use the following steps to use the Clear Cache button:

On the Tools menu, click Options , and then click the Other tab.

Click Advanced Options.

In the Advanced Options box, click Custom Forms.

In the Custom Forms box, click Manage Forms.

In the Forms Manager box, click Clear Cache.

(continued in comments...)

by maxwell edison

.
.
Method 2:

Delete the Forms Cache Files
If you do not have Outlook 2000 SR-1/SR-1a installed, or if you are using Outlook in the Internet Mail Only (IMO) mode, you can delete the forms cache file manually. The forms cache is stored in a folder called Forms. The Forms folder may be located in one of many locations depending on the operating system that you are using and how you have the operating system configured.

The Frmcache.dat file is the primary file to delete. The Frmcache.dat file serves as an index of the individual forms that have been cached on the computer. Use the following steps to manually delete the Frmcache.dat file. In addition, these steps delete all of the cached forms on your computer, which are stored insubfolders of the Forms folder.

Quit Outlook 2000.

Click the Microsoft Windows Search or File command to locate the Frmcache.dat file on your hard disk. If you are not familiar with this procedure, please consult your Microsoft Windows documentation, as the procedure varies depending on the version of Windows that you are using.

Click to select the Frmcache.dat file.

On the File menu, click Open Containing Folder to open the Forms folder in a separate window.

On the Edit menu, click Select All.

On the File menu, click Delete.

When you restart Outlook 2000, and use a custom form, the forms cache is re-created. Until a custom form is used, Outlook 2000 does not re-create the Frmcache.dat file

Maxwell

This discussion is closed to new replies.