General discussion

Outlook 2000

By Naleen ·
Hi there, we're using POP3 email accounts and we're downloading all our emails and the pst file is stored on the local drives. One of our users .pst file is 1,412,960KB big. I know that's huge but he definitely wants to keep record of all those emails. He does archive but that doesn't seem to change the file size. His outlook takes ages to start and will crash quite often. I've told him it must be the file size but I'm not that technical to know for sure and I don't think he really believes me that the file size is causing the problems. Why doesn't the file size decreases when he archives? Can anybody give me a good technical explanation why he has this problems and if there's maybe a solution to decrease the file size when he archives. Many thanks.

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

8 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by Ann777 In reply to Outlook 2000

In plain simple english... look at Outlook as a database maintenance program (essentially maintaining e-mails).

When you delete an e-mail and empty the trash, the pointer to the e-mail is removed. As new e-mail comes in, it re-uses that same space.

The file size never decreases until a "compact" is done over the PST file. A compact is what actually collects the real e-mails and makes them contiguous and thereby gets rid of the "free" space no longer used.

This is just exactuly the way database programs work. "Data" is deleted (pointers are deleted), but the data is not removed until a "pack", "jetpack", etc. is completed. The command used in database programs vary with the program coding. In MS Outlook, the "command" through the Outlook GUI is to "compact".

... continued ...

While without

Collapse -

by Ann777 In reply to

How to Compact in Outlook?

While in Outlook:
Right-click on the PST folder and click on Properties.
Click on Advanced.
Then click on the Compact Now button.