General discussion

Please help a Server 2003 Novice!

By Starscream ·
Hi, I am currently an IT Technician at several primary schools in the UK and I hope to upgrade the networks from peer to peer networks with simple windows 98 servers to more modern and useful client/server networks with workstations running XP Pro and server platform Windows Server 2003 Standard. I am trying to accomlish this at the cheapest cost possible and will be setting up this vanilla solution myself. I plan to study for the MCSE qualification eventually but this would be a great start as I have low server knowledge as of present. I can successfully create a domain and have clients connecting to this domain using VMWARE as a safe test box. I know it takes a great deal of time and expertise to design and implement the policies, OUs, users, roaming profiles, home directories, folder redirection etc. So I was hoping for a helping hand in the form of free user management software so the tedious job of using active directory for user management. Free policy guides from start to finish to setup both staff and student OUs. And any other advice information from people who have set up similar systems in schools. As it is primary school security it not a massive issue, more registry protection from kids breaking machines is more useful than locking down machines using complicated security planninng. I am familiar with imaging software so its basically down to administration software to make life easier and policies.

If anyone has school experience deploying server 2003 with folder redirections etc and account groups for Staff, Students and technicians, I would love to hear from you. Also if there is any server 2003 irc rooms or server 2003 dedicated discussions around the net.