General discussion

Project/ SharePoint Portal Server 2003

By craig_hopkins ·
Seeking to hear about lesson learned, both positive and negative, about your implementation of Project Server and SharePoint Portal Server 2003.

If you were starting again what would you do differently and why?

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

4 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by Joseph Moore In reply to Project/ SharePoint Porta ...

>If you were starting again what would you do differently

I would RUN AWAY! I HATE Project Server 2000 with SharePoint Team Services! I can't stand it! I think this was an interesting idea of Microsoft, but it is implemented incorrectly. MS made this one too complex.

First off, you will NOT be able to install Project and SharePoint correctly by yourself. You will need outside assistance. I was not able to get this to install correctly by myself, and I have some skills and knowledge on this stuff! I found install instructions from MS on this, and they were wrong! My consultant had his own secret document that we used that did work!

Next, only users in your Windows Domain can access Project, since it uses Windows Authentication to connect. Yes, there are local Project Server user accounts, but you are not supposed to use them. So, when you have multiple WIndows domains (with NO trust between them) then those users can't access Project. Really annoying!
It is big, clunky, doesn't make a lot of sense, and near impossible to troubleshoot if there is a config problem.
It's just NOT worth it!

Collapse -

by craig_hopkins In reply to

Are you reffering to the 2003 version

Was the project stopped or is it now in use? Have other issues developed which have changed your review?

Collapse -

by grant In reply to Project/ SharePoint Porta ...