General discussion

Locked

Protecting the server

By Rustys ·
I am having problems with people deleting directories form the server. For some of the programs that they use the students need to be able to read/write to the HDD.

They are running both Windows 9X and NT.

I need to know if there is a way wecan keep the computer read/write but not where they can delete directories.

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

5 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

Protecting the server

by cuziyq In reply to Protecting the server

The is a way. First of all, be aware of the difference between share and NTFS permissions. If this is folder is on a FAT drive, this won't work.

First, give everyone full control on the share permissions.

On the NTFS permissions,manually addthe people and/or groups you want to have access. For each user/group, choose special access... Set Read and Execute for directory access, and read, write, and execute for the files. Make sure you propogate this to the subfolders and files.

Each user should read as follows:
Special Access (RX)(RWX)

Users will be able to modify the contents of the files all they want, but will not be able to add or delete anything.

Collapse -

Protecting the server

by Rustys In reply to Protecting the server

Poster rated this answer

Collapse -

Protecting the server

by NetTek In reply to Protecting the server

The first answer will allow users to read a file, create a file, and execute a file. However, if you want the users to be able to modify/edit files without being able to delete them, it cannot be done. The W (write) right will only allow a user to create files, NOT modify them. In order to edit/modify files, users must have the delete right. This is not an oversite by Microsoft, but is a result of the way applications open files. This might be hard to follow, but I'll try to make it clear. Say you open a file called MYFILE.DOC. The application will make a copy of MYFILE.DOC and rename it something like ~MYFI$$.TMP. It will then open ~MYFI$$.TMP. Any changes made are made to the TMP file. When you save the file, it will DELETE the original MYFILE.DOC, and then rename ~MYFI$$.TMP to MYFILE.DOC. That is why users need the delete right in order to modify/edit files.

Collapse -

Protecting the server

by Rustys In reply to Protecting the server

Poster rated this answer

Collapse -

Protecting the server

by Rustys In reply to Protecting the server

This question was closed by the author

Back to Windows Forum
5 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  

Related Discussions

Related Forums