Question

Rights and Permissions in Sharepoint 2007

By stein_brian ·
I'm hoping somebody more knowledgable with Sharepoint 2007 could help me out with probably a really simple issue I'm having with Microsoft Office Sharepoint Server 2007. So I was asked to setup a demo site to show my boss at the school district where I work exactly what Sharepoint is and what it can do, even though I am new to it myself. The goal is mostly for a document repository for starters, but will probably expand from there. I had no issues installing after installation the default website opened, which I cusotmized a bit. I then created a new site underneat this top level site called 'Schools', and under that site I created one new site for each school in the district. Within each school, there is a site for each subject, i.e. Math, Science, etc. Lastly, under the subject a site for each teacher (please note this is my logical idea, physically i only have one school, one subject, and one teacher so far). the question is, how do I give a user, or group, specific rights to one site and different rights to other sights? When I am in the bottom most site, the teachers site, I goto Site Actions - Site Settings - People and Groups but no matter what I do there, it seems to take effect for every site, even if i remove inheritance from the parent. What am I missing here?

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

9 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

Technet info

by shasca In reply to Rights and Permissions in ...
Collapse -

My Reply

by stein_brian In reply to Technet info