Question

SBS 2003 Standard R2 Question

By john ·
Hello all,

First let me say I am new at working with SBS 2003 R2 as my education is with Server 2000.

We recently installed SBS 2003 on a small office network of 11 computers and we're running into a few issues. Here is some information about the setup.

The Structure:
11 computers in the office. Nine of them running 2000 Professional, Two of them XP Professional.

The Server is a Dual Core AMD 64 with 2GB of RAM running a Mirror RAID partition. We also have a 500GB external drive connected via USB for backups.

All clients have been setup with Roaming Profiles and their outlook.pst file stored on the server so its included in the backup. The roaming profiles and email all work fine.

The company has an Access database in which everyone connects to at the same time and works from.

The Problem:

Five of Ten computers can access the database with lightning speed. The other half is painfully slow. I know its a problem specific to the individual computers rather than their roaming profiles because I can log into a fast computer with any account and they are all fast from that computer. I'm thinking NIC problem on the hub or possible DNS problem. I checked the DNS on the Server and I didn't see any issues but I'll admit I'm no expert with DNS. Can someone guide me through or link me to a guide on checking the DNS settings?

On a side note, every computer on the network is identical

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

9 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

When you installed the new Server

by OH Smeg In reply to SBS 2003 Standard R2 Ques ...

Was all the other Network Hardware Replaced?