General discussion

Server 2003 & Terminal Server

By someone ·
I have recently switched form a Peer to Peer to a Server/ Client environment. I am new to server managment but I'm sure, just like every other aplication I have tackled, that after a few hundred hours, I will be able to scrape by.

As for now, I can't get past Terminal Server. I was able to install Office 2000 on the server after a couple of days of trial and error w/ the MST & MSI files but I still don't think it's quite right on the server. Anyway, since I'm not familliar with Terminal Server, I'm ot sure how to log on to it from my laptop (client). I can log on to the Server via Remote Desktop or through My Network Places but I am never offered to log on to a T.S. session. I have added a regestry value called Runonce that is supposed to provide clients with the initial setup version of Office 2000. I have been over and over the literature I have but, I can't find any thing in regards to the client except to add client rights in Computer Management. But in my console tree, there is nothing that says "Users & Groups". I might have somehow altered that in server configuration and I'm going to check that next.
Meanwhile I would like to hear from some of you that aer familliar with Terminal Server. Thanks,
Anguished Andy

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

3 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by Joseph Moore In reply to Server 2003 & Terminal Se ...

Wait, wait, wait.

"I can log on to the Server via Remote Desktop"

So, when you run Remote Desktop from your WinXP machine, you click Add New Connection, put in the name and IP address of the Win2K3 server, then you are able to connect to it? You get, in the Remote Desktop window, a login/password box????

Then you ARE logged in via Terminal Services. That is it!