General discussion

• Creator
    Topic

servers that support 10000 clients

by jawj909 ·

i’m a student and i would like to know if anyone could help me by pointing me in the right direction, i’m looking for a server{s} that support 10000 clients

All Comments

• Author
    Replies

by maxwell edison ·

In reply to servers that support 10000 clients

Here are a cpuple:

MCIS 2.0 News Server is the powerful, full-function news server for commercial news sites and online communities. MCIS 2.0 News supports thousands of users in a single-server configuration

Features at a Glance:

http://www.microsoft.com/germany/backoffice/download/MCIS20Features.doc

DCForum has successfully served tens of thousands of clients whose platforms include UNIX, Linux, Windows NT, and Windows 2000. Following are the basic requirements:

http://www.dcscripts.com/dcforum_require.shtml

(REMOVE SPACES from the pasted URLs.)

Maxwell

by jose mir ·

I have interpreted the question more to a hardware issue than a software one.
      Answer 1 is focused in the Microsoft News Server (discussions forums and news feeds) and the DCForum Conferencing Software (discussion). But if the original question is about software then more details must be informed; at least what kind of server software is intended to deploy (web pages, e-mail, discussions, etc).
      If the question is about server hardware for a corporate LAN/MAN, you should consider, also, the platform, but in few words I think you should start looking at IBM, HP-Compaq and SUN. Depending on the configuration (single or multiple server, clustering, distributed applications, etc.) you should look for micro servers (below $ 100 thousands), mid-range servers (from $ 100 thousands to 1 million), and mainframe servers (around $ 1 million and above).