4 replies
by haileyan
This is normal. Your workstations remember the mapped drives as persistent and it will always give a notice that they are already connected. What you need to do is an "@echo off" command at the beginning of your login script.
I recently rebuilt a few servers and gave them new names. Since I changed teh names of my file servers I made entries like this:
[START SCRIPT]
@echo off
REM *********************************************
REM ******** SYNC TIME TO SERVER **************
REM *********************************************
REM ** Set workstation time to server time
net time \\jX-exch /set /yes
REM *********************************************
REM ******* DRIVE MAPPINGS & ROUTES ************
REM *********************************************
REM ** REMOVE OLD Server Shares (From Upgrade to Win2K Server)
REM net use f: /DELETE
REM net use n: /DELETE
REM net use y: /DELETE
REM net use z: /DELETE
REM ** Connect drives to server shares
net use f: \\jX-file\apps
net use n: \\jX-file\clients
net use y: \\jX-file\users
net use z: \\jX-file\forms
[END SCRIPT]
by haileyan
by rcom
by ian hibberd
We have the same problem,
The drives are being mapped via a logon \ machine startup script set into AD group policy. If the drives are mapped via a script in group policy the end user had no control over them they appear as disconnected for some reason but work fine and cannot be removed. We use a startup script to map the drives and a shutdown script to delete them its the only way to get rid of them.
If you map the drive using the via logon script in the users profile ie. AD users and computers then the user can disconnect or delete the drive.
This discussion is closed to new replies.
Trending Windows Forum posts
Sort by Trending