General discussion

• Creator
    Topic

Test Cisco 2500 routers on LAN

by interpretivewoodwork ·

This may seem like a lame question,but there is some basis for it…really! Im studying on my own in preparation for ccna exams. I have in my office (2) cisco 2500 routers not being used ( on the shelf). I’ve been playing around with them (connecting into the console port only) with configuration, passwords,etc. but I would like to connect them to our LAN and create a separate network and use them in a more real senario.
    The problem being, only one Ethernet port on each. My question is: Can I successfully inter-connect these via serial ports,thus producing (2) usable Ethernet ports. And if this is possible, what would be the most practical way to accomplish this, (I actually don’t have a cisco-cisco serial cable, if there is such a thing). Is there a way to do this?

All Comments

• Author
    Replies

by fabiano pacheco ·

In reply to Test Cisco 2500 routers on LAN

Hi…you?ll not be able to connect two serial interface because beetween this two routers anything is needed to generate a clock signal, usually a modem (if you configure a serial port as DTE you will need a clock signal generated by an CSU/DSU or other DCE device).

I do have a csu/dsu. Are you saying that it is possible with this?
      serial – csu/dsu – aux ? or serial – csu/dsu – serial? Not clear.

by some guy in seattle ·

You can set up the ciscos to provide their own clocking, however you will need to get a DTE/DCE cable to hook the serial ports up back-to-back. Remember, after hooking up the cable only one cisco will need to provide the clocking, I believe on the DCE side (this will be the master). Go to this URL and click on “clock rate” for a basic idea: http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/software/ios112/112cg_cr/1rbook/1rintrfc.htm#xtocid1667727