General discussion

Toshiba DK424 PBX

By brasslet ·
I've been tasked to administer a DK424 system at a small remote office. They purchased the system some time ago. They haven't been able to utilize the system to its potential and are also unsure if it really meets their needs, largely due to what sounds like indifferent vendor support. I have some PBX and telecom experience from working with Avaya (aka Lucent) Definity systems, but I'm unfamiliar with the Toshiba.

From reading the System Administrator Guide and other documentation, I can see this product can be administered via a phone connected to a specific port on the system. From some poking around, I think that's already been setup so I can get at the system that way. I also see some of the system's end user features, such as callforwarding, pickup groups etc. A couple of things I don't see, however, I list below.

1) Can the system be administered remotely? If so, how? I read somewhere that you need some kind of proprietary software from Toshiba but I wonder if that is true.

2) The Definity systems offer what they refer to as Call Coverage, also known as Coverage Paths. This automatically reroutes calls when an extension is busy, active or not available depending on programming. Example: phone rings boss. After three rings (no answer), rings at assistant's phone three times. After no answer there, goes into the boss's voicemail. I can't see how the Toshiba does this. I see call forwarding but that behaves differently. I can't imagine they don't offer something like this but I can't find it.

Thanks in advance for all help.

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

10 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

Toshiba DK424 PBX

by brasslet In reply to Toshiba DK424 PBX

Point value changed by question poster.

Collapse -

Toshiba DK424 PBX

by Joseph Moore In reply to Toshiba DK424 PBX

I found a couple of things on the Toshiba web site: