Discussion Locked

Unwanted Automatic Shutdown

0 helpful
12 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

What would cause a program such as Word 2000 to shutdown right after it opens?????

Please help!

12 replies

by dmiles

Scan your system for any viruses
This may be a bug in the Word 2000 software,uninstall and reinstall the software too see if this will clear the problem up.

by sridharpandu

A coorupt install. So remove word using the uinstall option. Use a utility like System mechanic (free download for 30 days evaluation) to remove all unwanted registry entries. Reinstall word.

Best regards

by bearwa

First I would try starting Word with one of these startup switches.
Control what happens when you start Microsoft Word
In Microsoft Windows 95, click the shortcut icon for Microsoft Word using the right mouse button, click Properties, and then click the Shortcut tab.
In Microsoft Windows NT, click the Word program icon, and then click Properties on the File menu.
In the Target box or the Command Line box, enter the path to Word; this path is usually C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\Winword.exe.
At the end of the path, type a startup switch from the following table:

Type To
/a Start Word and prevent add-ins and global templates (including the Normal template) from being loaded automatically.
The /a switch also locks the setting files, that is the setting files cannot be read or modified if you use this switch.

/laddinpath Start Word and then load a specific Word add-in.
/m Start Word without running any AutoExec macros.
/mmacroname Start Word and then run a specific macro. The /m switch also prevents Word from running any AutoExec macros.
/n Start a new instance of Word with no document open. Documents opened in each instance of Word will not appear as choices in the Window menu of other instances.
/ttemplatename Start Word with a new document based on a template other than the Normal template.
/w Start a new instance of Word with a blank document. Documents opened in each instance of Word will not appear as choices in the Window menu of the other instances.
(no switch) A new Word window is opened with a blank document using the existing instance of the Word application.

Note To suppress automatic macros without using switches, hold down SHIFT while you start Word. If you start Word from the Office Shortcut Bar, click the button for the program on the Office Shortcut Bar first, and then immediately hold down SHIFT while Word starts.

by hogenakk

I agree with the given options from others.
But there might be a very simple answer: if you are using an anti-virus scanner like norton antivirus 2000 or 2002, there is an option to block macro's. By default it is enabled.
Try if Word 2000 can be opened -and stays open- when you disable the macro scan function in NAV.

This discussion is closed to new replies.