Discussion Locked

User profile in Win2k

0 helpful
1 reply
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

Here is the story.
A company had only one Active Directory controller that got broken. I have reinstalled the box, and have created a new forest and a new domain (the old one was a nonsens).
So the question I have is to how can I preserve local user profiles when joining the new domain. They have all thier data in local profiles, and I know when you change domains windows creates a new profile.
I know how to copy the profile from System Properties/User profiles.
But it doesn't copy "Local Settings" folder. I need that folder there as well and I can't copy it.

Any help is greatly appreciated,
Victor

1 reply

by mcarswell

I recommend that you go under the properties of my Computer on the Win2000\NT Pc Click on the Users Profile Tab and Chose the user Profile that your are going to configure as a roaming Profile then Click on the copy to Button and copy this profile to a Server that will store all the users Roaming profiles. On 2000 you will have the option to choose who will have the right to use this profile and you will need to Specify the user account permitted to use this profile then choose OK. Next you will need to go into the User Manager For Domains or AD and specify the users Profile Path under their account. This Profile Path should be the path to the user profile that you have just copied to the central Server. I typically copy the user Profile to there Home drive and Specify the UNC name to this profile under the users Profile Path.
Example :
Home Drive = H: To:\\SERVER\USERNAME$
Profile Path :\\SERVER\USERNAME$\PROFILE
Now the next time the users logs in to a workstation there profile will be copied to that machine.

The Local Settings Usaually does not contain any important Information that will effect the user Working inviroment and If you are that concern copy the User Profile manually First Then use the User Profile Copy Once that is Done have the user log back on on and back of then copy the Information that the user really needs back to there local Settings folder.

This discussion is closed to new replies.