General discussion

Locked

users in PDC

By chrislara ·
Is it a good idea to delete users from the PDC that are no longer employed by the company?

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

11 total posts (Page 1 of 2)   01 | 02   Next
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

users in PDC

by Adriatico In reply to users in PDC

Yes. Unless the user accounts are actually in use (for some reason or other) there is no need to keep them.

From both a security and licensing point of view, you're better off getting rid of them.

Collapse -

users in PDC

by chrislara In reply to users in PDC

Poster rated this answer

Collapse -

users in PDC

by nhmorrison In reply to users in PDC

It's not a bad idea, but you may find it more to your advantage to disable the accounts initially instead of deleting them. That gives you the option of renaming it later for a replacement rather than creating a new user.

Collapse -

users in PDC

by chrislara In reply to users in PDC

Poster rated this answer

Collapse -

users in PDC

by Dennis@l In reply to users in PDC

Yes, but I would consider disabling the account for two reasons. It could be link to a service that is running and if the company hires a replacement then you can safely rename the account keeping the permissions and policies intact for the new employee.

Collapse -

users in PDC

by chrislara In reply to users in PDC

Poster rated this answer

Collapse -

users in PDC

by pherr In reply to users in PDC

You should always delete users whom are no longer with your company. Just be sure that they have no service running under them, which they should not unless they where a system admin. Personally I remove users imetaitly following they departure.

Collapse -

users in PDC

by chrislara In reply to users in PDC

Poster rated this answer

Collapse -

users in PDC

by simpsin In reply to users in PDC

Thoretically you are not supposed to delete users (BY Microsoft) because if you are using a security level C2 or close you can not re-create the same user (I found this to be un-true in windows NT)The official position is to lock the account to makesure it is not used, this way you should have no problems with security or licensing and you can use the same account later by re-naming if neccessary. Personnaly I would suggest to delete users only if you are sure you won't need that account againand if you have to many accounts and can't keep track anymore

Collapse -

users in PDC

by chrislara In reply to users in PDC

Poster rated this answer

Back to Windows Forum
11 total posts (Page 1 of 2)   01 | 02   Next

Related Discussions

Related Forums