Discussion Locked

What will the users see?

0 helpful
6 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

In a couple of weeks I'm performing an in place upgrade of my NT4 PDC. I'll then start Active Directory. Then I'll upgrade my NT4 Exchange 5.5 server to W2K server and Exchange 2000. When my users come in the next business morning to log in, whatwill they find? They typically log in with username-password to our domain name. The users are all on W2K Pro already. Do I have to make changes to their workstations? Will their Outlook clients function the same? Will their email addresses be the same? I know its a lot of questions - any answers would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

6 replies

by shanghai sam

Use ADMT (Active Directory Migration Tool) for ugrading server from NT4 to Win2k. Its fast, secure and easy.

by curlergirl

As far as basic domain logon and authentication, users will not see any changes or encounter any problems, assuming your upgrade installation goes smoothly and all the usual network services are functioning properly, and assuming you're not changingthe server name, IP address, or any of your shared resource names. As far as email, the Outlook email client should not have any problem finding the email server, again assuming the server and site names won't change. Even if the server name changes, if the site name doesn't change most of your clients will automatically find the new server. If they have any problems, you may have to instruct the users on how to go into their email profile and change the server name manually. However, depending on what other 3rd party apps you have running, you might run into client-side settings that need to be changed or even client-side apps that need to be upgraded and/or reinstalled. I would advise having at least one or two workstations handy totest things on after you do your server upgrade just to be sure there aren't any apps or other services that are cranky. Hope this helps!

by dc1

Since you are doing an inplace upgrade the end users will se no difference (username, password, domain name) when they login in the morning. Email addresses as well as client configuration will also remain the same.

Dave

This discussion is closed to new replies.