Question

win95 on domain but not talking to win2003 file server

By ryancroom ·
Hello I am having a problem with getting a win95 pc access to shared resorces on a win2003 file server. First let me say I am a summer student who is experianced with computers but not very experianced with servers. I have installed the correct DSClient for win9X from the windows 2000 cd. Using administrator username and password I can log onto the domain, and talk to any computer and any other server except our file sharing server. All our servers are runing win2003. The error I recieve is "The specified computer did not recieve your request. Try again later"

I think it may be a setting on the server or on the pc Im over looking.It may have something to with SMB signing but to my understanding the DSClient was supposed to take care of that problem. But if I still need to have SMB signing disabled please let me know. Any help will be much appreciated.

Unfortunetly upgrading the win95 pc OS is not an option as we have programs we need that will only work on win95. We are currently using working around this problem by sending them to a winXP machine that the win95 machine can access but we would like to directly communicate with our server if possible.

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

8 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

All you need is to install dsclient on Win85

All you need is to install dsclient onto the Win95 box, actually you don't need to but it on but it makes it run better. You can get the dsclient off of the install disc for win2k3 i forget exact location of file on the disk but its not hard to find.

Please post back if you have any more problems or questions.

Collapse -

could not find

by ryancroom In reply to All you need is to instal ...