General discussion

• Creator
    Topic

Windows 2003 small buisness server

by avcc ·

Hi,
    Im looking into buying windows small buisness server 2003. I know that SBS comes with server 2k3 and exchange 2k3, but can they be seperated so they can run on two different servers, buecause i dont have real fast servers and i dont think it could handle both.

Thanks

All Comments

• Author
    Replies

Reply To: Windows 2003 small buisness server

by sgt_shultz ·

In reply to Windows 2003 small buisness server

good call, if you ask me. SBS looks a lot cheaper to buy up front but such a pita to support compared to stand-alone versions. remember you are using sbs and not the standalone versions when you trouble-shoot stuff. and double the minimum system specs imho
      you only need exchange and AD server? i have no experience with sbs2003 but if anything like sbsnt and sbs2000, avoid like plague. if i had to use my old hardware, especially.
      how many users?

by sgt_shultz ·

In reply to Reply To: Windows 2003 small buisness server

oh, sure, sbs is great as long as you don’t mind a cajion services running, as long as all your vendors can use whatver version of sql server ya got…i would not buy sbs because i ‘might’ need the capability in the future. i would buy the packages i needed now individually. better for your career also imho.
        ‘user error’. ouch. if that was zing, guess surprised haven’t had one before now (smile). so maybe i could say he agrees separate packages more robust?? i say do lots of homework in technet and support at http://www.microsoft.com. read the support articles. read between the lines.
        you will end up with a bunch o stuff besides sbs in future, imho. accounting database engine maybe. backup software maybe. i just wouldn’t promise management i can do everything on one server. sbs is for wimps, dl

by avcc ·

we have about 40 users right now, so the 75 that sbs supports will be enough for future growth.

by avcc ·