General discussion

Windows 98, ME, or 2000 on a new system

By CTG ·
I just finished building a new system for work related applications. No intensive graphics (mostly MS products). running on a peer to peer network.
800 thunderbird AMD processor, 164 MB ram, 45GB HD. What operating system is better. Why? Can I use Win 2000 server as a stand alone, why or why not? If I set it as my server, can I still peer to peer, and use it daily as a main computer with each type or operating system?

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

7 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by wdlists In reply to Windows 98, ME, or 2000 o ...

I have no direct experience with ME. I have been running a small peer-to-peer network of Win98 for several years. We are now migrating to Win 2K. We have a Win 2K server and two machines running Win 2k Pro. We are seeing more stability on Win 2k except for the bug I just posted (dnsapi 11151).

If you try to run on Win 2K server, at the very least you will have to change a lot of configuration parameters as it configures itself to prefer background applications over foreground interactive programs. It works well with old and new systems in peer-to-peer mode. The cost differential between server and pro makes the decision a no-brainer unless you need the server features. There are major differences at the surface level in the administration of server and pro. Once in the actual management code they are quite similar but finding the right place is baffling for a while.

You have plenty of horsepower and memory to run any of the systems.

Collapse -

by CTG In reply to Windows 98, ME, or 2000 o ...

Poster rated this answer

Collapse -

by 1ronman In reply to Windows 98, ME, or 2000 o ...