by spectre ·

Advantages and disadvantages of Windows 2000

All Comments

• Author
    Replies

Windows2000

by csheltcomp ·

In reply to Windows2000

Plug and Play…DVD Support over NT…USB support over NT..Stability…Excellent hardware support(better than win98, etc…)I am running now for 6 mo’s and have had no crashes yet…This OS also has an extremely clever recovery console in case of crash. It also has many disk imaging options for larger networks..It is definitely a plus for the workplace.

Windows2000

by spectre ·

In reply to Windows2000

The question was auto-closed by TechRepublic

Windows2000

by wired_777 ·

In reply to Windows2000

The first response summed it up best with NT stability and plug-play O/S.I have been running 2000 for about 2 months now. The only problems I have had are related to drivers.
      The disadvantages include many vendors do not have drivers available, like NT4.0, not all hardware is supported. Check the Hardware Compatiblilty List at the MS website.
      One of the best features is a file protection system that will automatically replace system files!!! You can delete ntkern. Empty the recycle bin. Then about 30-45 seconds later watch it reappear in the winnt/system folder. REALLY COOL!
      It is not designed for a multimedia use. It does have the capability, but Windows98SE currently offers more support for video/sound hardware and software.

Windows2000

by spectre ·

In reply to Windows2000

Windows2000

by tim.culham ·

In reply to Windows2000

Certainly more adv than disadv. Multimedia (sorry wired777) is a bit advantage to Win2000. Yes, check out the HCL first, but most major vendors will have drivers shortly, check their websites.